Who We Are



Diane Brown, DVM, PhD, DACVP - Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer
Coady Egan - Executive Assistant


Bradford Brady - Director of Development & Communications
Sharon M. Albright, DVM CCRT - Manager of Communications and Veterinary Outreach
Melissa Smallwood, MS - Development & Events Specialist


Katherine Brantley, MAC, CPA - Director of Finance
Joan Caviness, CPA - Accounting Specialist

Research Programs

Andrea Fiumefreddo, MS - Director of Programs & Operations
Rebekah Borgert, MS- Programs Specialist

Board of Directors

The American Kennel Club Canine Health Foundation, Inc. is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.  The Directors bring a variety of experience in finance, marketing, human resources, human medicine and of course, canine health.  Click on the Directors names to learn more about each of them.

J. Charles Garvin, MD, FACS - Chairman
Sue Copeland - Vice Chairman
Cindy Vogels - Treasurer
Ann Viklund - Secretary
Kristin Bloink, DVM, MPH, PA-C, DACVPM
A. Duane Butherus, PhD
William I. Christensen, MD, MPH
Susan LaCroix Hamil
David H. Hopkins, Esq.
Rhonda Hovan 
Wayne Jensen, DVM, PhD, MBA
Karolynne McAteer
Mary Smith, BVM&S, PhD, DACVIM 
Tina Truesdale
Harvey M. Wooding

Previous Board Chairs

A. Duane Butherus, PhD, 2013 - 2015
Lee Arnold, 2011 - 2012
Cindy Vogels, 2007 - 2010
Wayne Ferguson, 2005 - 2006
John Studebaker, 2003 - 2004
Howard Falberg, 2001 - 2002
Robert J. Hritzo, MD, 1995 - 2000

Scientific Review Committee

The CHF Scientific Review Committee is responsible for the general oversight, funding and stewardship of the grants program of the AKC Canine Health Foundation.  The committee's recommendations and scientific expertise are utilized by the CHF Board of Directors in determining how to best distribute the available grant funds.  View the Scientific Review Committee Members.

Help Future Generations of Dogs

Participate in canine health research by providing samples or by enrolling in a clinical trial. Samples are needed from healthy dogs and dogs affected by specific diseases.

Learn How to Help

Connect With Us:
Get Canine Health News:
Please leave this field empty

© 2018 AKC Canine Health Foundation | Privacy Policy | Site Map

Site by Blackbaud, Inc.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software